ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Lightroom Catalogs

Posted on: 11 July 2007

The other day I had my laptop at work and during my lunch-break I did a little manipulation of a few photos from my recent trip to Yosemite. I liked the changes, but wanted to see how they would look on my monitor at home instead of the small screen on my little Sony. When I got home I couldn’t figure out how to sync photos from my laptop to my home computer. (This might be even more problematic if it weren’t for the fact that I have Lightroom in Windows on the laptop and Mac on the iMac at home). Lightroom makes visible changes to photos that can then be exported and saved by another name However, the beauty of Lightroom is that the changes are not made on the permanent RAW files. Therefore the file names don’t change (at least without purposely doing so). That means when I tried to move a file from the laptop to the computer, the changes didn’t come with it; just the RAW file was transferred. I struggled for a bit trying to figure an easy way to sync files. I knew there had to be a way.

Today I watched Matt Kloskowski’s video tutorial on how to use Catalogs in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom’s Version 1.1. Excellent. Most excellent. Thank you Matt.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

    • thebail: Reblogged this on Underwater Ap
    • Veronica Lynne: Did you use it? It's RODEO time! That might make a good pic for the fb page to.
    • Veronica Lynne: Certainly. I am flattered. Just give credit--ChromaticSoul Photos. Also, I would love to see how you use it. The rodei is this weekend! Veronica Lynn
