ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Be Glad There Are No Photos to Go With This One

Posted on: 24 March 2008

Every once in a while I come across something that’s not photography related but that I feel is important to share with others. I came across this article on Salon today and I knew instantly that I would be remiss if I didn’t share it with others.

Here’s just the first excerpt from Salon’s The Bowel Movement by Leslie Crawford:

I looked, all right? This morning, I took a long and unflinching gaze. How do I say this without sounding boastful? There in the bowl was a real beauty, my reward for yesterday’s hearty oatmeal breakfast and black bean and rice dinner. It was the kind of (how do we settle on a comfortable euphemism?) ejecta that would make Mom proud.

I consulted “What’s Your Poo Telling You?” my handy field guide to human stools, and discovered that mine had an ideal shape, sinking nicely to the bottom of the bowl. Because of its textbook-perfect hue — no alarming green, red or yellowish tinge proving my bile is diseased — I can be reassured that I and my hardworking colon are healthy. I can proudly say I’m an excretion achiever!

I am hardly alone in poring over “What’s Your Poo Telling You?” Not only does poo have a lot to tell you, but lately scores of Americans seem anxious to listen. Last spring, Chronicle Books printed 20,000 copies of the little brown book, mostly to be sold as a novelty in Urban Outfitters. Today it has sold more than 225,000 in big-box bookstores nationwide. Apparently its success is proof that at long last poo has come out of the water closet.…

Enjoy the article, the book (if you get it) and . . . well, you know.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

