ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Jörg Colberg on A Photographer’s Promotional Material

Posted on: 5 November 2008

As I mentioned earlier, this past weekend, I was a reviewer at Atlanta Celebrates Photography‘s portfolio reviews. Apart from seeing a lot of interesting photography, it gave me the opportunity to see lots of different kids of promotional materials handed out by the photographers.

First and foremost, your most important promotional item is your photography. If your photography is bad, then no promotional material is going to make me think of it more highly. But that’s obvious, isn’t it?

Of course, your personal preference of what to use can be very different some somebody else’s, and in the same way my personal reaction to the materials presented to me might differ from somebody else’s. But I thought I’d at least mention what I encountered and what I think about it. [via Conscientious]

This is an article that likely every photographer (at least the ones who want to share their work and possibly make money from it) should read. There are a lot of ways to promote yourself, find out what the options are and then decide what works best for you.

Leave a Reply

