ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Lightroom Preset Polo / Ralph Lauren Style

Posted on: 18 March 2009

Matt Kloskowsi has developed a new preset for Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

I got some inspiration for this preset while looking through a magazine this past weekend. I saw a Ralph Lauren/Polo ad and I noticed their photos have a very distinct look to them. As always, I made it my mission to recreate the effect and I think I got pretty darn close. As you’ll see, it’s got a hint of green to it with a slightly desaturated look. I tried it out on some actual polo sport photos but I also tried it on some wedding photos and it had a very neat look to it. It’s worth mentioning that it seems to work best on brighter photos, so darker sunset photos or photos taken indoors probably won’t look as good. [via Lightroom Killer Tips]

Check out the preset here.

2 Responses to "Lightroom Preset Polo / Ralph Lauren Style"

Matt,
We so enjoyed your lectures today at the javits center in NYC. You are a terrific speaker.
I have a few questions:

1)I did “unzip” your presets on your website, however I do not konw how to import them into lightroom.
2)ALSO, the last lesson you gave was on contact sheets and using columns to make nice layouts. This doesn’t appear to be in your book. I cannot “move” or zoom the pictures in their columns like you were to better center the image. How do you do that?
3)When you shoot w/a nikon POS camera, the format is NOT 4×6. My daughter wanted to make a preset on import to automatically apply a 4×6 crop, that she could then recenter as she saw fit, but it doesn’t seem like crop is an option on preset.. but it is an option on the “copy” dialogue box. Why is that?
4) can you “batch” copy or do you have to use “synch” tool for that?

Thanks so much for your help
Best
Gail Starr

I think you have me confused with someone else. Perhaps you should check your schedule again. I’m in California and have never been to NYC. I am wondering who you heard.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • thebail: Reblogged this on Underwater Ap
  • Veronica Lynne: Did you use it? It's RODEO time! That might make a good pic for the fb page to.
  • Veronica Lynne: Certainly. I am flattered. Just give credit--ChromaticSoul Photos. Also, I would love to see how you use it. The rodei is this weekend! Veronica Lynn
