ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Studio Strobes vs. Small Off-Camera Flashes

Posted on: 22 April 2009

I finally got around to covering a question that I get asked so often from readers here on the blog, and that is:

“What is the difference between off camera flash (like a Nikon SB-800 or SB-900, or a Canon 580 EXII), and a Studio Strobe?

If I have time, I sometimes answer people back with a direct email, but I’ve gotten this question so many times, I haven’t been able to answer them all. So, I thought I’d put together an example to show you my typical response to the question, which is purely my own opinion on the subject.

What I usually say is something along the lines of:

“Whether you use a small off-camera flash, or a studio strobe, what you get is a bright flash of white light aiming toward your subject.” [via Photoshop Insider]

Read the rest of the story here. You’ll also find that Scott has done the work of listing the pros and cons of each as well as provide a budget should you be so inclined to upgrade your lighting equipment. Thanks Scott.

Leave a Reply

    • thebail: Reblogged this on Underwater Ap
    • Veronica Lynne: Did you use it? It's RODEO time! That might make a good pic for the fb page to.
    • Veronica Lynne: Certainly. I am flattered. Just give credit--ChromaticSoul Photos. Also, I would love to see how you use it. The rodei is this weekend! Veronica Lynn
