ChromaticSoul :: The Blog

Prime vs Zoom Lenses – Which are Best?

Posted on: 26 April 2009

Darren Rowse has a good post about the pros and cons of each of these lenses. With the exception of the Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
that came with the Canon Rebel XT when I purchased it years ago, I have two other lenses and both are prime. I have a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 and a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro. I really want a good zoom lens for times when I want to carry just the camera. That way I have a “multi-purpose” lens and can capture just about anything. I am definitely leaning toward the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4. While I would certainly love to own the Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L. I full recognize that it’s size and weight can be prohibitive in some places. The 24-105mm f/4 is a much lighter lens and is about the same size as the Canon 100mm f/2.8 macro lens.

Check out the article here.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • thebail: Reblogged this on Underwater Ap
  • Veronica Lynne: Did you use it? It's RODEO time! That might make a good pic for the fb page to.
  • Veronica Lynne: Certainly. I am flattered. Just give credit--ChromaticSoul Photos. Also, I would love to see how you use it. The rodei is this weekend! Veronica Lynn
